## Subject: RE: Membership of the Communications & Media Law Committee

Date: 12/6/2005, 3:00 PM

## From: <u>Stephanie Glazer <sglazer@NYCBAR.org></u>

To: 'Elena Ruth Sassower' <judgewatchers@aol.com>

## Ms. Sassower,

I've learned that names of committee members are considered to be public information, but of course, contact information is not so I've listed below the members of the Communication & Media Law committee. As you see, Diane Zimmerman is not a member of the committee.

Thanks.

David McCraw---chair Alia Smith--secretary Stephanie S. Abrutyn David J.B. Arroyo Nicole A. Auerbach Preeta D. Bansal Erik C. Bierbauer Anne B. Carroll Devereux Chatillon Patricia A. Clark Barbara G. Cohen Douglas F. Curtis Pierre M. Davis Robert Andrew Feinberg Kristina Findikyan Carolyn K. Foley Maherin Y. Gangat Alison Gooding Henry R. Kaufman Thomas S. Kim Joel Kurtzberg Beth Rachel Lobel Michael P. Madow Judith R. Margolin Kathleen A. Murray Lynn B. Oberlander Peter Oriol Sara Lynn Pearl Nicholas E. Poser Jed S. Rakoff Elisa M. Rivlin Robert D. Sack Elizabeth L. Schorr John Siegal Miriam Stern Maura Jeanne Wogan

Stephanie Glazer Manager, Committee Membership Services New York City Bar Association 42 W 44th Street New York, NY 10036 ph: 212-382-6664 fax: 212-382-6760 sglazer@nycbar.org www.nycbar.org

> -----Original Message-----From: Elena Ruth Sassower [mailto:judgewatchers@aol.com] Sent: Tuesday, December 06, 2005 11:48 AM To: sglazer@nycbar.org Subject: Membership of the Communications & Media Law Committee

TO: Stephanie Glazer, Director of Committee Membership Services Association of the Bar of the City of New York

Following up our telephone conversation a short while ago, this is to formalize my request for the membership roster of the City Bar's Communications & Media Law Committee. Such request comes on the heels of my discovery that David McCraw, counsel for <u>The New York Times</u>, is the Committee's chair -- information I learned only this past weekend as I perused the October 2005 issue of the City Bar's Forty-Fourth Street Notes and found his name among "New Committee Chairs".

This written request is necessary because you declined to provide me with my telephone request for the Committee's membership -- or to confirm whether Professor Diane Zimmerman is a member of the Committee, as likewise Martin London, Esq.

As discussed, I have been unable to obtain legal referrals for a lawsuit against The New York Times.

Your prompt attention would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Elena Sassower, Coordinator Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. (CJA) Tel: (914) 421-1200