CENTER for JUDICIAL ACCOUNTABILITY, INC.

Post Office Box 8101 White Plains, New York 10602 Tel. (914)421-1200

E-Mail: <u>cja@judgewatch.org</u> Website: <u>www.judgewatch.org</u>

June 22, 2016

TO:	Secretary of the Senate Francis Patience
	Assembly Records Access Officer Robin Marilla
	Governor Cuomo's Public Information Officer Mongthu Zago

FROM: Elena Ruth Sassower, Director Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. (CJA)

RE: FOIL/RECORDS REQUEST: New York State Law Revision Commission

Legislative Law, Article 4-A (§§70-72), enacted in 1934, is entitled Law Revision Commission.

§70 provides for a nine-member Law Revision Commission consisting of "the chairman of the committees on the judiciary and codes of the senate and assembly, ex-officio, and five additional members, to be appointed by the governor" – with the governor selecting the chair from among his appointees.

§71 provides that each of the governor's appointees "shall receive necessary expenses incurred in the performance of official duty", further stating:

"The commission may appoint such employees as may be needed, prescribe their duties, and fix their compensation within the amount appropriated for the commission."

The Commission's important duties are enumerated by §72. The fifth and final duty is:

"5. To report its proceedings annually to the legislature on or before February first, and, if it deems advisable, to accompany its report with proposed bills to carry out any of its recommendations."

Pursuant to Senate Rule XV, "Freedom of Information", Assembly Rule VIII, "Public Access to Records", and Public Officers Law, Article VI [Freedom of Information Law (F.O.I.L.)], request is made for:

(1) records identifying "the amount appropriated for the commission" since 1990, including where, in the budget, such line-item appropriation can be found;

(2) the Commission's annual reports to the Legislature since 1990.

Senate/Assembly/Governor – FOIL/Records Access

Thank you.

Slong Rud Massalver

cc: <u>New York State Law Revision Commission</u> Executive Director: Rose Mary Bailly, Esq. Chair: Peter J. Kiernan, Esq.

> Senate Judiciary Committee Chairman John Bonacic Assembly Judiciary Committee Chair Helene Weinstein Senate Codes Committee Chair Michael Nozzolio Assembly Codes Committee Chair Joseph Lentol

Professor Michael J. Hutter Professor Jay C. Carlisle John A. Cirando, Esq. Alfred J. Weiner, Esq.