CENTER for JUDICIAL ACCOUNTABILITY, INC.

Post Office Box 8101 White Plains, New York 10602

Tel: 914-421-1200

E-Mail: mail@judgewatch.org
Website: www.judgewatch.org

December 7, 2017

TO:

Senate Records Access Officer Secretary of the Senate Francis Patience

Assembly Records Access Officer Robin Marilla

FROM:

Elena Ruth Sassower, Director

Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. (CJA)

RE:

FOIL/RECORDS REQUEST: Administrative Regulations Review Commission

Legislative Law Article 5-B (§§86-88) establishes the Administrative Regulations Review Commission, which is to have six members, appointed as follows:

"...two members of the senate to be appointed by the temporary president of the senate, two members of the assembly to be appointed by the speaker of the assembly, one member of the senate to be appointed by the minority leader of the senate and one member of the assembly to be appointed by the minority leader of the assembly. The temporary president of the senate and the speaker of the assembly shall each appoint a co-chairman from among the commission membership. Any vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment. Such appointees shall serve at the pleasure of the respective legislative member making such appointment.

It appears from the Senate website: https://www.nysenate.gov/committees/administrative-regulations-review-commission-arrc, that its Senate members are Senators Chris Jacobs, purported to be its chair, and Senators Phil Boyle and Liz Krueger, and from the Assembly website: http://nyassembly.gov/comm/?id=44, that is sole Assembly member is Assemblyman Dan Quart, purported to be its chair.

Pursuant to Senate Rule XV "Freedom of Information", Assembly Rule VIII "Public Access to Records", and Public Officers Law, Article VI (FOIL), request is made for records reflecting the members of the Administrative Regulations Review Commission, who appointed them, the dates on which they were appointed, and the date on which the Temporary Senate President and Assembly Speaker each appointed "a co-chairman from the commission membership".

Pursuant to Public Officers Law §89.3, your response/acknowledgment is required "within five business days" of your receipt of this request.

Thank you.

Elong Rus Hassower