

THE ASSEMBLY STATE OF NEW YORK ALBANY

Room 932 Legislative Office Building Albany, New York 12248 (518) 455-3791

March 14, 2018

Honorable John J. Flanagan Temporary President of the Senate & Coalition Leader New York State Senate State Capitol Albany, New York 12247

Honorable Jeffrey D. Klein Independent Democratic Conference Leader & Coalition Leader New York State Senate State Capitol Albany, New York 12247

Dear Senators Flanagan and Klein:

Enclosed please find two copies of the Assembly's proposed Joint Certificate establishing a Joint Conference Committee with respect to resolutions relating to the 2018-2019 State Budget passed by our respective houses. Please review this Certificate and, if acceptable, sign each of the Certificates.

The first Certificate should be retained by you for filing with the Secretary of the Senate and the second executed Certificate should be returned to my office in Room 349 in the Capitol for filing with the Clerk of the Assembly.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely yours

CARL E. HEASTIE

Enc.



NEW YORK STATE ASSEMBLY

JOINT CERTIFICATE

Pursuant to Joint Rules II and III of the Permanent Rules of the Senate and the Assembly

Whereas, Joint Rules II and III of the Permanent Rules of the Senate and Assembly provide for the convening of joint conference committees to resolve differences between similar bills or resolutions adopted by each house of the Legislature; and

Whereas, the Governor has submitted certain appropriation and nonappropriation bills pursuant to Article VII of the New York State Constitution as part of the 2018-2019 executive budget; the Senate has passed a resolution addressing such appropriation and nonappropriation bills submitted by the Governor (Senate Resolution R4168) and incorporating bills (S.7500-B, S.7501, S.7502, S.7503-B, S.7404-B, S.7505-B, S.7506-A, S.7507-B, S.7508-B, S.7509-B, S.7510, S.7511-A) and the Assembly has passed a resolution addressing such appropriation bills submitted by the Governor (Assembly Resolution addressing such appropriation and nonappropriation bills submitted by the Governor (Assembly Resolution E912) and incorporating bills (A.9500-B, A.9501, A.9502, A.9503-B, A.9504-B, A.9505-C, A.9506-A, A.9507-B, A.9508-B, A.9509-B, A.9510, A.9511-A); and

Whereas, such resolutions addressing such appropriation and nonappropriation bills which have been passed by or may be passed by each house of the Legislature, contain substantially similar but not identical provisions;

Now, therefore, We, John J. Flanagan, Temporary President of the Senate and Coalition Leader, and Jeffrey D. Klein, Senate Independent Democratic Conference Leader and Coalition Leader, and Carl E. Heastie, Speaker of the Assembly, hereby certify to the convening of a Joint Conference Committee on the above-referenced resolutions pursuant to Permanent Joint Rules II and III in accordance with the following:

1. This Joint Conference Committee shall consist of the following members:

Senators:	Members of the Assembly:
John J. Flanagan Co-Chairperson	Carl E. Heastie Co-Chairperson
Jeffrey D. Klein	Helene E. Weinstein
John A. DeFrancisco	Joseph D. Morelle
Catharine M. Young	Earlene Hooper
Andrea Stewart-Cousins	Brian M. Kolb

Alternate:	Alternate:
John Bonacic	Jeffrion L. Aubry
Liz Krueger	Robert C. Oaks

2. Such Joint Conference Committee shall be convened as soon as reasonably practicable and shall be dissolved not later than the earlier of the filing of a report pursuant to Joint Rules II and III, or March 22, 2018 unless extended by written notice signed by us and filed with the Secretary of the Senate and the Clerk of the Assembly.

3. The Joint Conference Committee may authorize a subcommittee or subcommittees, whose members shall be separately appointed by us, to assist in its efforts at resolving such differing provisions.

4. The deliberations of such Joint Conference Committee or any subcommittee(s) thereof shall be open to the public in accord with the Open Meetings Law.

5. We shall designate employees of the Senate and the Assembly to serve as staff for the Joint Conference Committee and any subcommittee(s).

DATED this 14th Day of March, 2018.

John J. Flanagar

Temporary President of the Senate & Coalition Leader

Jeffrey D. Klein Independent Democratic Conference Leader & Coalition Leader

Carl E. Heastie Speaker of the Assembly