COMMISSION

Joseph M. Bress CHAIR

Barbara A. Black Angelo A. Costanza Robert E. Eggenschiller Donald A. Odell MEMBERS



ren'd 6/10/94

Richard Rifkin Executive Director

PHONE: 518-432-8207 FAX: 518-432-8255

NEW YORK STATE ETHICS COMMISSION 39 Columbia Street Albany, New York 12207

June 8, 1994

Ms. Elena Ruth Sassower Coordinator Center for Judicial Accountability Box 69 Gedney Station White Plains, New York 10605-0069

Dear Ms. Sassower:

Per your request, I am enclosing a biography of Richard Rifkin and a copy of the Freedom of Information Law.

In response to your question about our inquiry into your complaint, the law provides that Commission proceedings are confidential if it is determined that there is no violation of law. The Commission so found with respect to your complaint.

Finally, the political affiliations of Commissioners and State employees such as our executive director are generally not available. However, since no more than two of the three Ethics Commission members appointed by the Governor without prior nomination can be from the same political party, records are kept of these appointees. They are Joseph Bress, Democrat; Angelo Costanza, Democrat; and Donald Odell, Republican.

Sincerely,

Walter C. ayres

Walter Ayres ⁰ Director of Communications